Ana Hoffman and Tara Sweeney Elected AFN Co-Chairs

AFN Convention Update

Ana Hoffman and Tara Sweeney Elected AFN Co-Chairs

FAIRBANKS, AK – AFN’s membership this morning voted in two new co-chairs of the organization’s board of directors:

  • Ana Hoffman – CEO, Bethel Native Corporation
  • Tara Sweeney – Senior Vice President of External Affairs, Arctic Slope Regional Corporation
Ana Hoffman was the candidate with the most votes and will serve a 2-year term. Tara Sweeney received the second most votes and will serve a 1-year term.AFN is moving to staggered terms for co-chairs beginning with this year’s election, which  means that beginning next year only one co-chair will be elected at each year’s annual AFN convention to serve a two-year term.

– – –

This year’s AFN Convention is taking place from Thursday, October 24th through Saturday, October 26th at the Carlson Center in Fairbanks, Alaska. More event details and a LIVE webcast of the event are available at:

Join us on social media! #AFN2013

For more information or to schedule interviews, please contact Ben Mallott: 907-321-3217 or

To view full press release click HERE. 


The Alaska Federation of Natives was formed in October 1966, when more than 400 Alaska Natives representing 17 Native organizations gathered for a three-day conference to address Alaska Native aboriginal land rights. It is now the largest statewide Native organization in Alaska. Its membership includes 178 villages (both federally-recognized tribes and village corporations), 13 regional Native corporations and 12 regional nonprofit and tribal consortiums that contract and run federal and state programs. AFN is governed by a 37-member Board, which is elected by its membership at the annual convention held each October. The mission of AFN is to enhance and promote the cultural, economic and political voice of the entire Alaska Native community. Learn more at