2023 Annual Convention Agenda

Thursday, October 19 – Morning Session

- 8:30 a.m. Qasgirmiut Dancers
- 9:00 a.m. Call to Order Ana Hoffman and Joe Nelson, Co-Chairs, AFN

Veterans March & Posting of Colors Alaska Native Veterans Council

Invocation – Nelson Angapak

National Anthem & State Flag Song

Welcome Remarks from Dena'ina Leader Aaron Leggett, Chief and President, Native Village of Eklutna Michael Curry, Board President & Chair, Eklutna, Inc.

Welcome Video from the City of Anchorage Mayor Dave Bronson

Recognition of Major Sponsors Ana Hoffman and Joe Nelson, Co-Chairs, AFN

Welcome Video from Governor Mike Dunleavy

- 9:40 a.m. Introduction of the AFN Board of Directors
- 9:45 a.m. Keynote Address Sophie Minich, CEO of Cook Inlet Region, Inc. Ryan Redington, 2023 Iditarod Champion
- **10:15 a.m. Denali and Citizen of the Year Awards** Denali Award: Courtney Carothers

Citizen of the Year Award: Margaret Roberts (posthumously)

10:40 a.m. AFN President's Report Julie Kitka, President, AFN

10:50 am Transformation in Education

Julie Kitka, President, AFN; Commissioner Deena Bishop, Alaska Department of Education and Early Development; Joel Isaak, Director of Tribal Affairs, Alaska Department of Education and Early Development; Gloria O'Neill, President/CEO, Cook Inlet Tribal Council; Pat Pitney, President of the University of Alaska; Dr. Michael Johnson, former Commissioner of Education, Alaska Department of Education and Early Development (pending, Zoom)

- **11:30 a.m.** The Important Role of Storytelling in Strengthening Our Community Nelson Angapak Willie Hensley (pending) Rosita Worl (pending)
- 12:00 p.m. Recess

Thursday, October 19 – Afternoon Session

- 12:30 p.m. Iñugialiŋmiut Dance Group of Tikiġaq
- 1:00 p.m. Call to Order Ana Hoffman and Joe Nelson, Co-Chairs, AFN

Preliminary Credentials Report Nicole Borromeo, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, AFN

- **1:05 p.m.** U.S. Senator Thom Tillis (North Carolina) (live via Zoom) Introduced by Julie Kitka, President, AFN
- **1:20 p.m. 2023 Elders and Youth Conference Report** Elizabeth *La Quen Náay* Medicine Crow, President, First Alaskans Institute
- 1:30 p.m. Report from AFN Strategic Planning Session in August, facilitated by the Foraker Group Ana Hoffman and Joe Nelson, AFN Co-Chairs
- 1:40 p.m. Native to Native Leadership Panel Each region speaks about their top three priorities for their region and the importance of working together Moderators: Ana Hoffman and Joe Nelson, AFN Co-Chairs
- **3:00 p.m.** Open Mic Q&A Moderated by: Ana Hoffman and Joe Nelson, AFN Co-Chairs
- **4:20 p.m.** Summary Wrap Up Ana Hoffman and Joe Nelson, AFN Co-Chairs

4:30 p.m. RECESS

Friday, October 20 – Morning Session

- 8:30 a.m. Barrow Dancers
- 9:00 a.m. Call to Order Ana Hoffman and Joe Nelson, Co-Chairs, AFN

Recognition of Major Sponsors Ana Hoffman and Joe Nelson, Co-Chairs, AFN

Invocation

- 9:05 a.m. U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski (live via Zoom)
- 9:15 a.m. AFN Co-Chair Candidate Presentations
- 9:25 a.m. AFN President's Awards Moderated by Sheri Buretta, AFN Convention Committee Chair
- **10:25 a.m.** Governor's Special Award: Honoring the Legacy of Shirley Demientieff Presented by Lt. Governor Nancy Dahlstrom
- 10:30 a.m. U.S. Secretary of the Interior Deb Haaland
- 10:45 a.m. Casey Sixkiller, Regional Administrator, U.S. EPA
- 10:55 a.m. Vanita Gupta, Associate Attorney General of the United States
- 11:05 a.m. Department of Energy Partnerships in Alaska Under Secretary David Crane, Department of Energy Dr. Erin Whitney, Director, Arctic Energy Office
- **11:35 a.m.** AFN Legislative & Litigation Committee Report Tom Panamaroff, Chair, and Nicole Borromeo, Executive Vice President and General Counsel
- **11:45 a.m. The Covenant House Video Presentation** Julie Sullivan
- 11:50 a.m. U.S. Senator Dan Sullivan
- 12:00 p.m. PLENARY SESSION RECESS

Friday, October 20 — AFTERNOON SESSION

- 12:30 p.m. Lower Yukon Drummers and Dancers
- 1:00 p.m. Call to Order Ana Hoffman and Joe Nelson, Co-Chairs, AFN

Final Credentials Report Nicole Borromeo, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, AFN

- 1:05 p.m. Convention Forum Knowledge Sharing – Salmon Crisis, Climate Change, and Hunting & Fishing Moderated by: Ana Hoffman & Joe Nelson, AFN Co-Chairs; Joe Williams, RurAL CAP Chair; Heather Gurko, Alaska Native Brotherhood President; Gayla Hoseth, AFN Subsistence Committee Chair
- **4:15 p.m.** Forum Wrap-Up Gayla Hoseth, AFN Subsistence Committee Chair
- 4:30 p.m. RECESS

Saturday, October 21 – Morning Session

9:00 a.m. Call to Order Ana Hoffman and Joe Nelson, Co-Chairs, AFN

Invocation

Recognition of Major Sponsors Ana Hoffman and Joe Nelson, Co-Chairs, AFN

- 9:05 a.m. Announcement of AFN Village Representatives and Election of 2023 AFN Co-Chair
- 9:10 a.m. Special Report: Section 29 Update Alyeska Pipeline Services Company
- 9:20 a.m. Alaska Bush Caucus Alaska State Senator Donnie Olson

9:35 a.m. Consideration of 2023 AFN Convention Resolutions

Moderated by Jodi Mitchell, AFN Resolutions Committee Chair. Accompanied by AFN Resolution Committee members, Gail Schubert, Linda Tyone-Pete, Liz *Qaulluq* Cravalho, Malia Villegas, Nathan McCowan, Karen Pletnikoff, Martha Whitman, Julie Roberts-Hyslop, Elizabeth *La Quen Náay* Medicine Crow, Greta Goto, and Russell Nelson

12:00 p.m. PLENARY SESSION RECESS

Saturday, October 21 – Afternoon Session

- 12:30 p.m. Chevak Tanqik Dancers
- **1:00 p.m.** Call to Order Ana Hoffman and Joe Nelson, Co-Chairs, AFN
- 1:05 p.m. Contributions to Our Ways of Life: Alaska Native Veterans & Military Service Speak Out Benno Cleveland, Chair, Alaska Native Veterans Council Emil Notti Jerry Ward Lieutenant General David S. Nahom, U.S. Air Force Lieutenant General A.C. Roper, U.S. Army Reserve Major General Torrence Saxe Major General Brian Eifler (pending)
- 2:15 p.m. Sharing Knowledge on Return of Significant Cultural Artifacts Introduced by Sheri Buretta, Chair, Chugach Alaska Corporation; John F.C. Johnson, Vice President, Cultural Resources, Chugach Alaska Corporation; Guests from Germany
- 2:30 p.m. Alaska State Senator Forrest Dunbar Presenting Doug Tansy with legislation citation
- 2:35 p.m. U.S. Representative Mary Sattler Peltola
- 2:55 p.m. Introduction of New AFN Board Members
- **3:00 p.m.** Closing Comments and Benediction Ana Hoffman and Joe Nelson, AFN Co-Chairs
- 3:30 p.m. ADJOURNMENT